This blog is now closed.

Please go to the new blog, Desert Island Mixtapes for all the latest posts.


Saturday, May 23, 2009

fun. Album details

From Fun's myspace page, I quote:


You've been asking for ages for details of the new album, and we are very pleased to be able to FINALLY offer some up! fun.'s debut, Aim & Ignite will be released on August 25th.
The record was made with great friends new and old, and we're psyched to show off the incredible album cover by the very talented Jacob Weinstein.

Aim & Ignite

Track Listing:
1. Be Calm
2. Benson Hedges
3. All The Pretty Girls
4. I Wanna Be The One
5. At Least I'm Not As Sad (As I Used To Be)
6. Light A Roman Candle With Me
7. Walking The Dog
8. Barlights
9. The Gambler
10. Take Your Time (Coming Home)

Friday, May 22, 2009

New Fruit Bats in August

Fruit Bats will be releasing a new album on Sub Pop - on August 4, 2009 - entitled The Ruminant Bird

Track Listing
  1. Primitive Man
  2. The Ruminant Band
  3. Tegucigalpa
  4. Beautiful Morning Light
  5. The Hobo Girl
  6. Being on Our Own
  7. My Unusual Friend
  8. Singing Joy to the World
  9. The Blessed Breeze
  10. Feather Bed
  11. Flamingo

New Grand Archives in September

I don't know how long this has been out, but I just heard about it. Grand Archives is releasing their 2nd full length LP on September 15, 2009 on Sub Pop. The LP is titled Keep in Mind Frankenstein.

Track Listing:

  1. Topsy’s Revenge
  2. Witchy Park/Tomorrow Will (Take Care of Itself)
  3. Silver Among the Gold
  4. Oslo Novelist
  5. Lazy Bones
  6. Siren Echo Valley (Part 1)
  7. Left for All the Strays
  8. Dig That Crazy Grave
  9. Siren Echo Valley (Part 2)
  10. Willoughby

Needless to say, I am incredibly excited!

I'm still waiting for that Southern Glass Home EP you guys promised me!

Thursday, May 21, 2009

Can't get "fun." out of my head!

I was crushed when The Format broke up. Very sad indeed. Thankfully, Nate has started a new band named fun. Here are the 2 demos they have released. Download them, love them, get them stuck in your head.

At Least I'm Not as Sad (as I used to be) [download mp3]

Benson Hedges [download mp3]

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Iron & Wine does Jimmy Fallon

Iron & Wine singing Godless Brother in Love - a brand new song

Monday, May 18, 2009

Friday, May 8, 2009

Drew Danburry does a Brown Couch Session

Drew Danburry. Go see this guy on his next 1 million-stop tour. Seriously, he's a road warrior!

Buy some Drew!